Louisiana Possession of Marijuana
August 5th, 2021
The laws concerning possession of marijuana in Louisiana have changed. Effective August 1, 2021. House Bill 652 changed possession of up to 14 grams of marijuana punishable with only a $100 fine, NO arrest, and NO jail time. The penalty for possession of marijuana is the same regardless of any prior marijuana convictions. While this change in law lowers the penalties in Louisiana, remember possession of marijuana is still illegal and will often affect employment. It can also serve as a basis for impairment when operating a motor vehicle. Additionally, Louisiana has altered the penalties for possessing over 14 (fourteen) grams of marijuana. On the second conviction of over 14 grams of marijuana, you face up to 6 (six) months in jail and a $1,000 fine. A third conviction of over 14 grams is a felony, and the penalty is up to two years in jail and a $2,000 fine. The Louisiana law is now consistent with 32 other states and the District of Columbia, which have all passed laws legalizing or decriminalize simple possession of marijuana.