December 13th, 2022
For many families, one holiday tradition more sacred than Santa is celebrating with fireworks. First, however, we need to remember, like most good things in life, there are rules to follow!
The State of Louisiana implements rules restricting who can purchase fireworks. You must be at least 15 years old and not intoxicated to buy fireworks. The State also restricts where you can discharge fireworks, and it cannot be within 1,000 feet of a hospital, church, asylum, school, public building, or retail location. You cannot discharge fireworks from a vehicle or inside a vehicle either; if you do, the punishment is up to a $500 fine and up to six months in the parish jail.
Additionally, Caddo parish further restricts the sale and discharge of fireworks. They can be sold from noon on June 25 through July 5 at 10 pm and cannot be sold from 10 pm to 8 am. For the Christmas celebration, fireworks can be sold from noon on December 15 through January 1 at 10 pm, and they cannot be sold at night, from 10 pm to 8 am.
What are you going to do with those leftover fireworks? Be careful. Caddo parish does not allow the discharge of fireworks outside the above designated times, the days you can purchase.
If you or someone you know has a question about fireworks and when you can light up the sky, do not hesitate to contact the law office of Larrion L. Hillman at 318-549-9810. This blog is not intended as legal advice, nor does it form an attorney-client relationship. Larrion Hillman practices criminal defense in Caddo Parish, Webster Parish, Bossier Parish, Shreveport, and Bossier City, Louisiana. And remember, keep calm and let Hillman handle it.